Navigating Through Grief & Loss

In Memory of Sparky
November 27, 2007 – December 28, 2019

Christmas 2019 with Sparky

The loss of a loved one, human or pet can be devastating.  That being who once occupied real space and time in our lives has gone leaving us with a hole in our lives.  Even with the best support I have found through my own personal experiences, and we all experience loss, is that by going through it, fully grieving with all emotions, tears and all is the best healing salve.  The same place that we love deeply is the place that feels heart broken and sad.  It is okay. 

Elisabeth Kübler-Ross, author of the internationally in her best selling book, “On Death and Dying” wrote about the five stages of grief.

“The five stages, denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance are a part of the framework that makes up our learning to live with the one we lost. They are tools to help us frame and identify what we may be feeling. But they are not stops on some linear timeline in grief.”


Honour your grief.

Give yourself permission to cry.  

Seek a listening ear; a shoulder to cry on.

If possible, remember times with your loved one.

If possible, look at photos. 

Share your stories with friends and families.

Be infinitely patient with yourself. 

Seek support from a professional, a grief counsellor, your spiritual teacher or someone who you connect with and trust. 

Total Page Visits: 13652 - Today Page Visits: 2
This entry was posted in The Bloggery and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Navigating Through Grief & Loss

  1. Catherin Gregory says:

    Dear Tommi …
    We are so very sad to hear of the loss of dear darling Sparky. We know how difficult the loss of a pet is. We hope your grief goes well. Hugs all round Tommi. Let’s connect soon. Cody and Eileen

Comments are closed.